2 new addictions: the horrorpops & artwiculate

Standard

The Horrorpops
I may not like collecting people like Pokemon (see previous entry re: social networking sites) but I seem to be predisposed to collecting new addictions. Over the past few days, I have been listening to the Danish psychobilly band, The Horrorpops, constantly. Of course being a fan of inebriation & rockin’ music, the song “Crawl Straight Home” is my current favorite. Lead singer Patricia Day’s vocals are sexy & haunting and I think it’s amazing that she can play the upright bass while singing —I can barely lip synch and play dashboard drums at the same time! Ha…For more info about The Horrorpops check out their band bio at Hellcat Records.

Artwiculate
I’m already admittedly addicted to Twitter and my recent discovery of the word game Artwiculate has done nothing but exacerbate this “affliction.” Playing Artwiculate has given me a chance to dust off the cobwebs that have accumulated in certain areas of my brain by forcing me to try my hand at crafting clever wordplay using the word of the day. The choices for word of the day have been on opposite ends of the spectrum in terms of difficulty, yesterday’s was pilgrim, which I found to be a terribly trite and obvious word choice, and today’s word is tintinnabulation which is most certainly much more challenging to use for generating interesting tweets that do not exceed 140 characters. If you think you can hang with the Artwiculati, visit the Artwiculate website for more info on how to play.

PS. I’m glad Turkey Gluttony Day is over.

EDIT: 11/27/09, 10:42 am

Crawl Straight Home – by The Horrorpops from their album “Bring It On”

Tingling mind and too big a smile
At least I got the room to spin with me
Trying hard to walk a straight line
I think I lost my femininity
Another shot
HEY
Tipsiness in affect

On my hands and my knees
Lost all my dignity
Just made another pathetic prayer
Need someone to hold my hair
A fearsome substance abuse
But there’s so much to choose
Can’t even crawl straight home
Can’t get the keys in the door

Prickly heart and watery eyes
I’m ripe to be emotionalized
Coated tongue and hairy teeth
I guess I’m not so ladylike
A social lubricant
YEAH
I’m beyond thinking acts

On my hands and my knees
Lost all my dignity
Just made another pathetic prayer
Need someone to hold my hair
A fearsome substance abuse
But there’s so much to choose
Can’t even crawl straight home
Can’t get the keys in the door

EDIT 11/27/09, 11:05am

Put up a Media page, which so far has “Crawl Straight Home” by The Horrorpops (just the song, no vid), “Forever Fades Away” by Tiger Army and “Click Click Bang Bang” by Miss Derringer. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

